Scandinavia is a generic term denoting five European countries: Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.

To a large extent the Scandinavian countries have a common legal tradition and a history of extensive co-operation in many administrative matters. The Scandinavian countries share to a large extent their history, and are closely related by language and culture. Scandinavian law reflects therefore vivid traditions in legislative, administrative, and jurisprudential matters.

Denmark, Finland and Sweden are members of the European Union, Norway and Iceland are related to the community law via the EEA-agreement, creating the European Economic Area.

Geographically, the Scandinavian peninsula comprises Norway and Sweden and the northernmost part of Finland.